REVIEWS – Weddings

 

“David O. Baldwin Photography was outstanding. Such a fun guy. He’s been such a plesure to work with. David and his wife were very accommodating. He made everyone feel comfortable to take pictures. He made the wedding so fun before, during and after. It’s like being around an old friend taking your pictures. My family and I loved every second of the photo shoot. The pictures look great, I love the lighting and the colours and everything. I would definitely reccomend him taking your pictures!”   Mariaelena Pianca Zanetti, August 8, 2017

“I am so incredibly happy with the photographer, the support (his wife), and of course- the pictures! Hands down the best experience I have ever had with a photographer. David had my kids smiling- real smiles, not just fake picture smiles. I didn’t get very good pictures from my first wedding and I always regretted not taking more time to choose a good photographer. So, for our 20th anniversary vow renewal, I really did my homework and it paid off! I can not recommend David O. Baldwin Photography enough!”   Amber Smith, May 23, 2017

“David O. Baldwin Photography was awesome. They were very accommodating and made everyone feel comfortable to take pictures. I have a family full of guys that hate being the center of attention and hate pictures and poses. David somehow got them all out of their shells and they loved it and wanted to keep taking pictures. He had every picture I wanted plus some. I am very happy with the quality and quantity of pictures that was taken. They are also very reasonably priced and fast in getting the edits to you. I would hire them every occasion I had to capture those special moments. There is no words I could use to express my happiness in the captured moments that he took on my special wedding day. Any blanks that I could not remember on my day it was definitely captured by David in his photos. Thank you from the bottom of our hearts!”   Amber Liana, May 20, 2017

“We highly recommend David O. Baldwin Photography for your wedding photography needs. Their patience, experience and professionalism truly shined from beginning to end. We couldn’t be more happier and impressed by our photos. They capture all the angles, emotions, and most of all, the love and excitement we experienced that day.” Kanani Bending, February 25, 2017

“My daughter, Dawn Kanani Ballesteros/Bending got married at the Fairmont Orchid at Mauna Lani. I was responsible for acquiring a wedding photographer & was given a “preferred vendors” list of photographers we could select from. One of the photographers listed was David O. Baldwin. I contacted him & arranged to have him work with my daughter on services for her wedding. My daughter was already familiar with David as she had done several community events with him. i.e. the Bus a Move Fundraiser for Special Olympics West Hawaii. David O. Baldwin was professional in every aspect while documenting the event. From planning what he would be shooting, shooting the wedding preparations, the wedding itself, formals to the reception which was also held on property. He had every memorable moment captured. Within 24 hours we started receiving “sample shots” & within a week we had a website to check out awesome photos of the wedding. Within a couple of weeks my daughter received the final images presented in a gift box. My daughter was just ecstatic about the product that she received. David was easy to work with throughout the entire event & blended well with the crowd. I would not hesitate to recommend David O. Baldwin as a photographer nor would I hesitate to hire him again.”    Brad H. Ballesteros Sr, February 25, 2017 

“Our wedding was two days ago, Valentine’s Day. Birgit totally explained the process and was so kind and professional. David kept us all relaxed and enjoying our special moment. The entire wedding was amazing from the candid photos, spectacular location and complete professionalism with humor and intimacy. God gave us this perfect day that David made so memorable. My beautiful bride and I just couldn’t be happier. Mahalo nui loa.”   Richard Beaucher, February 14, 2017

“David (Uncle Beach) photographed our vow renewal, and stunningly captured the beauty and emotion of the day. Yes, his talent is undeniable, but the biggest blessing for us that day was his calming nature. I was as stressed out as any new bride, and David knew just how to make me feel that everything was ok. Birgit was very responsive to all my questions leading up to that day, and her turn-around on providing the images was so quick! Love, love, love David and Birgit!!!”   Christian Marasciullo, January 27, 2017

“David is exceptional. He came with an infectious enthusiasm that helped us relax and just enjoy the time shooting. David knew his angles and positioning and got us AMAZING shots! I am SO glad we went with him. It was our 10 year anniversary and now after 10 years I finally have amazing pics! The communication throughout the process was great also. I felt very at ease booking across the states and was even more pleased after the process. Book with David Baldwin, you won’t be disappointed!”   Sunshine, November 3, 2016

“David is not only a talented photographer but is able to lessen the stress you feel on the day of your wedding. I highly recommend David because of the fore mentioned statement. I received my photographs days after my honeymoon & was amazed at the photos as well as extremely pleased with all the photos. You would be doing yourself a grave disservice if you do not use him. It’s one less thing you have to worry about on this stressful day.”                   Stacey Leahy, September 8, 2016

“Hired David for our Big Island wedding last month. Wow just a great experience from beginning to end his wife handles a lot of the communication which was always prompt and on spot. David did a great shot for us and we added a Trash the dress shot a few days later which was so much fun and captured some amazing sunset shots. Super organized and knows his craft! Would not hesitate to recommend over and over.” Eric Zimmerman, July 26, 2016

“David was very caring and spot on to details and made us feel very comfortable from the moment we met. If you want your moment captured perfectly, then David is your guy. SPOT ON PERFECTION!!” Rich Martinez, July 5, 2016

“David Baldwin is fabulous. Unknown to us prior to my son’s wedding on July4th we chose him after reviewing his wedding photos on his web site, his responsiveness and such willingness to fit our needs. His personality is over the top he is so enjoyable and can make every one laugh even an Aunty Elaine! Wow he’s great his photography was perfect He really knows his stuff I have never had the need for a photographer before and would really recommend him to all-he’s the bomb thanks Mr. Baldwin-personality and skill plus.” Sandra Silcox, July 2,2016

“David and his wife Birgit are incredible! We were planning our ceremony in Hawaii from California; they were so on top of their communication from the very beginning and helped to plan an amazing day without having ever met. They were incredibly organized with their payments, emails, client questionnaires etc. and sought to really get to know us even calling and talking to us on the phone. They were extremely open to letting us decide how we wanted our photos to look. David brought the printed out the samples we sent, with him. David was so much fun and he made us instantly feel comfortable making jokes, having fun, and having nice genuine conversation… He was the witness on our marriage license. So great to have him part of our day and will work with him in the future if/when we are back on the island.” Jennifer & Josh, June 16, 2016

“Thank you so so much for helping to make our event last night so spectacular! You were so wonderful to work with and we greatly appreciated your attention to detail, amazing energy and the personalized experience:) We loved seeing the preview shots! To receive the rest of them I think the flash drive will be great rather than posting the rest to the website. Thank you again for making it such a special experience!”  Patrick & Brittany, April 26, 2016

“Dear David and Birgit, Thanks for all of your work on the big day and ongoing. The gallery pictures are lovely—she looks beautiful and there are lots of great shots! Patrick looks very handsome as well, and everyone looks happy! Love the special shots of jumping at the end, the rings, the bouquet toss, the kiss and many others. David, you were so positive and encouraging during the whole process—that was super. You really made it easy and I think we all stayed quite calmly excited (luckily we had had a pretty calm day up til your arrival). Birgit, sorry I missed meeting you in person, but we know you have put in a lot of effort, as well. You are a great team to work with …” Kate, mother of the bride, April 26, 2016

“We would highly recommend David to anyone looking for a wedding photographer! We live 4700 miles from Hawaii and had never met David prior, but he took the time to call us when we arrived to meet over the phone and get to know our personalities. On our wedding day, David made us feel relaxed, fun and truly captured our essence with his pictures! We felt like old friends and he made me feel like a supermodel! The pictures are gorgeous and we could not be happier! David was the perfect choice for us!!” Erin & Jason, April 1st, 2016

We would highly recommend David O. Baldwin to anyone of our family and friends. We eloped to the big island and knew it was absolutely vital to capture our special day through photos. David made our vision come alive for our wedding day. I could not thank his wife, Birgit enough for all of her assistance in planning our day. Overall we had a wonderful experience and are absolutely in love with the selection of photos. THANK YOU For the wonderful job!!!” Brittany & Larry, February 18, 2016

“David, Thank you so very much. Not only for the beautiful photographs but also for being a very special part of our day. We were so grateful for the time you spent with us, how amazing you made us feel. We will tell our friends about you, your photographs and what a lovely time it was to work with you.” Katie & Jose, December 18, 2015

“David was excellent in engaging all of our wedding attendees. He didn’t waste any time, helped calm a stressed bride after she arrived late, captured the essence of our families coming together, was charismatic, personable & incredibly resourceful in suggesting a venue for a public beach wedding that was not only relatively private, but within a 3-minute walk to our reception. We highly recommend David for your Big Island photography needs!” Liss & JD, November 20, 2015

“My husband and I had David take our honeymoon photos in Kailua. He was very easy to work with, fun, made us feel relaxed. We enjoyed sharing our memories with him. our pictures are beautiful. Brigit was very likable, always on top of having things organized, always available for our never ending questions…. photos are now in our home…on the walls, tables…we are so proud of them.”    Maggie & Bob, August 17, 2015

“Good morning, Birgit and David! Chris and I would like to thank you from the bottoms of our hearts for your part in our wedding yesterday! We wanted to keep things pretty simple for our special day, but beautiful photographs to remember it by and to share with our friends and family were incredibly important to us… and you delivered! :D You immediately put us both at ease and made the entire process SO much fun, which — as we can already see from the pictures on the blog — makes a huge difference when it comes to how the photos turn out. Thank you, David, for keeping us laughing and happy, and for taking such amazing photographs; we can’t wait to see the rest! And thank you, Birgit, for your kind emails and responsiveness, and for working your magic on our photos. =) We couldn’t have asked for a better photography team, a better location, or better weather. Everything really was perfect, and we’re so grateful to you for capturing it forever. Thank you, thank you, thank you! With our warmest wishes,”    Jess & Chris, May 18, 2015

“We used David as our photographer for our small, intimate wedding in Kohala Ranch. Our entire experience with David and Birgit was great! Birgit was very helpful and always responded to emails quickly. David called us a couple days before our special day to get an idea of what we were really looking for. I have to say we both feel like David far exceeded our expectations! David was a delight to have on our wedding day…he was very funny, very laid back, very professional and respectful and seemed to capture all the perfect “in the moment” photos. Our guests absolutely loved David as well…we all had a lot of fun taking the photos at our wedding. At the end of the night we were even able to view some of the photos that David had taken that night. We have all of the photos from our special day now and we are having a really hard time picking which ones to print because we love so many of them. Overall, we would highly recommend David as the photographer for any event!”    Mackenzie & Geoff Mason, February 7, 2015

“We would like to thank you so very, very much for the beautiful photography…  Your service was truly exceptional and made us feel very comfortable and full of laughter.  This has truly been a wonderful beautiful experience of which I will never forget and you as our photographer made our wedding a memory of pure happiness. Many, many thank yous from our hearts for a beautiful memory…..    Gail & Gary Brown, January 25, 2015

David thank you so much for your amazing photography & videography! We just watched the video for the first time & I had tears in my eyes! And what can I say…our pictures were absolutely breathtaking!!! We had such a fun & amazing experience!! I have to say our trash the dress photo session was priceless! I can’t imagine having anyone else capture our dream wedding!! Mahalo!!   Valerie & Bill Jacks, December 13, 2014

Hey David! We just wanted to say thank you again for taking our beautiful wedding photos at Mauna Lani! You were awesome and really kept everyone calm. :) Please also send a big thank you to Michael Darden who did our video. We finally watched it and were so happy with it. I cried again of course. Thank you again to you and the whole team!”  Love,  Andrea & Jared Hieger, October 24, 2014

mahalo 8.9.

“David, I wanted to drop you an email and let you know it was a sincere pleasure meeting and getting to know you! As I said several times while you were at the wedding, your professionalism and sense of humor added immeasurably to the wedding experience. I have shown everyone I can your photos of Nick and Jess from your blog site and they have all commented on the composition and artistry of the pictures as well as the quality of your photography! Thanks so much for being an awesome person and photographer!”   Steve (father of the bride), August 9, 2014

“David O Photography was AMAZING! My husband and I weren’t too sure who we were going to hire for our wedding photographer and found David online just doing research for photographers in Kona. After speaking with David for the first time I knew he was the one I needed to have at my wedding. He sounded so passionate, fun and welcoming, especially for being a complete stranger to me. Birgit is very quick at responding to your phone calls or emails and communication is great! She makes sure they are prepared for the day and you, as the client, get exactly what you want. David is so funny and outgoing, he feels like apart of the family when taking photos. He provides the perfect environment for a special day! Everyone loved David’s personality! He takes such beautiful photos and so many that it’s hard to choose which ones you want. Definitely would recommend David O Photography to anyone, it’s worth it!”   Natasha & Kanakalele, July 11, 2014

Hiring David O. Baldwin Photography was one of the best decisions we made for our wedding. We loved working with David (lead photographer) and Birgit (business manager) from the very start. They manage to seamlessly combine the artistry and professionalism of a photography business. Their customer service far exceeded our expectations. During the planning stages, Birgit was wonderful with checking in on us to see if she could help with anything. She was efficient, helpful, and prompt – my emails and phone calls were returned within 24-48 hours. If she needed some extra time to get an answer to me, she communicated when she expected to have it, and responded when promised. When our wedding was still 6+ months away, she sent us an email to let us know they were going on vacation and asked if there was anything we might need from them before they left. As a project manager and first-time bride, it was refreshing to work with someone whom you never had to chase for follow up. David and his assistant were so attentive, positive, and calming during all of our wedding activities (rehearsal, wedding day ceremony, and wedding reception). Our guests were happy to have their photo taken by him because of his awesome sense of humor, and friendliness – we are still receiving compliments on how much they liked him. He was playful, while still getting the photos we need. It was an outdoor, summer wedding, so David even had a few towels handy to wipe away any sweat. He took all of the photos we specifically requested, and more. The quality of the photos were top notch, and beautifully done. Birgit had some of them uploaded the very next morning! I highly recommend using the Baldwin’s for your wedding photography needs!… Kanoe & Allen Eiselin, June 21, 2014

“Thank you sooooooooo much!!!!!! They came out gorgeous!! David is outstanding!! He’s so warm & sweet and made our day!! He kept us smiling, and Birgit your talent in editing is out of this world!!”   Ana & Hootan June 18, 2014

“We absolutely LOVE our photos… THANK YOU so much for capturing our special day in the way that you did. Please thank your hard working wife for getting these up so fast. Spectacular job, could not have asked for anything better! We are excited to see what is coming…..will let you know when we have confirmed the 1 year anniversary trash the dress session. David, Thank you for making us so comfortable and special.” Adam & Heather, June 12

“Hello dear David and Birgit, First of all, I want to extend my gratitude to you David – you are wonderful, professional, understanding, caring person, very good w/kids the best photographer I have ever worked with in my life. Thank you so much. Everyone just loved loved all the sample pics. Very importantly I love each & every shots you took. And Birgit – thank you for working hard, I couldn’t believe that you posted the samples right after the wedding.”  Dulmaa & DJ, May 31, 2014

“Hi David,  This is Ricky’s rock and roll grandma:)  I wanted to let you know having been in the restaurant and catering business for many years seeing many events photographed, you were by far the best I have seen. My grandson Ricky tends to be somewhat shy and reserved as well as the bride Renae. I was so delighted and impressed by the way you were able to pull their true personalities out capturing who they truly are. You made them comfortable and added a touch of humor we all enjoyed. You are one in a million and we all appreciated your enthusiasm and sincerity and hope to work with you again in the future. P.S. Don’t forget to touch me up in all the photos. ”  LOL Sincerely, Nancy,  April 15, 2014

“We cannot recommend David more highly. He was prepared, creative & efficient. He won over the boys quickly and managed to take meaningful photos of all of us in all the various combinations we requested-and then some! We love the happiness he captured. It was a wonderful experience with tremendous results from David. Birgit had samples posted for us by the time we got home from dinner-very exciting for all of us. ” Mary, April 2, 2014 Alexis & Mario thank you card-2 ” 亲爱的大卫和比俄哥特,很高兴认识你们,也很开心能与你们一起度过我们最难忘的时光。这次在夏威夷的婚礼是我们向往已久的梦想实现了。

我们喜欢夏威夷的景色,从我们决定结婚的那一天起,我们就开始计划并且一直希望能有一天在这里实现这个美丽的梦想,这一切,因为有了你们的帮助,才能顺利实现。你们给了我们一个简单而充满爱的婚礼仪式,美丽又温馨的婚纱照,你们的热情帮助和专业态度,让我们永远记住了这一天。
愿上帝保佑你们!”
“Dear David and Birgit, it was a pleasure knowing you and we are so happy to spent the most memorable time on the island with you. This wedding ceremony in Hawaii is a dream come true.

We love Hawaii, from the day we decide to get married, we started to plan and hoped that someday we will make it a reality. Because of you, we’ve made it. You have given us a simple and yet wonderful wedding ceremony filled with love, the photos you took for us are just incredibly beautiful, your kindness and professionalism made us forever remember this day! God bless you! Love.”    Tony & Thea, February 6, 2014

“My name is Peter Anderson Sr., a native Californian. My son, Peter Jr., just married his soulmate, Sierra Scott, in a romantic ceremony on the beach at Kona on January 4, 2014. Peter and Sierra had a ceremony in Sacramento a week earlier to accommodate their mainland friends and family. I was unable to make it to the Kona wedding, but I just received the photographic portfolio from David O. Baldwin Photography. I am ecstatic, elated, blown away — choose your superlative. I literally feel that I, too, was standing on the beach next to my handsome son and gorgeous new daughter-in-law. I will cherish and savor these photos for the rest of my life. I have no idea how he captured them so perfectly — I guess true art is to be enjoyed, not scrutinized — but David Baldwin absolutely nailed them. Is there a Hawaiian word for “Far Out”? Each photo shows Peter and Sierra exactly how they are — two brilliant, strong, independent souls who are mad for each other. In the photos where they are together, David has provided the masterstroke — showing them embraced in perfect union. To see their tender love splayed against the rugged beauty of Kona is breathtaking. One excellent photo shows them at day’s end framed against a dark, dramatic, explosive sunset — it is sheer artistry. The opening shot shows Sierra spontaneously joining a group of drummers, and positively whaling away on the drums. I now have new respect for her intuitive wildness, in the best definition of the term. Another image shows Peter in a whimsical pose, hands in pocket, as kids on the beach are cavorting under the showers behind him. It wasn’t too many years ago when I’d see Peter and his friends taking the same kind of shower on the Pacific beach near San Francisco. There’s no way David Baldwin could’ve known this, but that shot brought back a tidal flood of memories about how Peter loved his childhood and his many boyhood chums. Some of those pals can be seen in the wedding scenes, bringing a cool symmetry to this point of my son’s life. David Baldwin is creative, soulful, hard working, and, to boil it down to a single word, fun. Where there was a tangible pang in my heart because of my inability to attend, Baldwin’s photographic mastery has healed the void and placed me right there, on the beach with my kids. How can I ever thank him for that?” Peter Anderson

 “David, Birgit and Nakia – You guys ROCK! The wedding photos were just beautiful and you guys perfectly captured the fun, family and aloha spirit we envisioned for our special day! David was engaging and entertaining and a true professional. We wouldn’t hesitate calling upon him for our 1st anniversary photos next year (I’m already working on my David for that trip back to the island!). Mahalo nui loa and Aloha.”   Tina & David

“Hello David & Birgit. As the father of the Bride, my perspective is somewhat different. On the business side, discussing and booking with you was clearly the easiest of any of the people we dealt with. All questions were promptly responded to with no confusion and the terms for the contract were more than fair and straight-forward. As for the pictures and event, as I told David at the end of the wedding, I don’t see how it is that any other photographer on the island has any wedding business at all. Everyone was happy, all the “required” shots were taken, candid shots were taken, any requested shots were taken and Jessica was at ease, happy and smiling throughout the entire evening which, of course, made Chris (and me) very happy as well! David’s humor in moving things along during the evening was invaluable and noticed by everyone and, of course, the photographs are magnificent. David, you are a true artist with extensive knowledge and you know how to bring out the best in your subjects No one could ask for more. Thank you!” Dean

“From the moment David walked into my hotel room, he made everyone at ease. He had little time to capture a lifetime of memories and nailed it! We had a small intimate ceremony and wanted every second documented so we could share with friends and family back at home. He was very attentive to our photo request list and carried a list in his pocket to not miss any one of them. 
The quality of the pictures was impeccable! We got married overlooking the beach just before sunset. David’s vision of lighting had a huge part in the how great the pictures turned out. 
He and assistant were able to send me a few proofs by then end of the evening so we could post them to social media the same day. We had our pictures online for viewing in less than 2 weeks & CD with full release in 3weeks. 
I would highly recommend David to anyone in need of a photographer. 
Thank you, David & Birgit!”    Melissa & Chris

“David was amazing! We wanted a simple relaxed and happy wedding, and he was a huge part of the relaxed and blissfully peaceful feeling, everyone felt while there. David you are a true artist, and it is clear you love your medium! You made me and my family, usually scattered across the globe, feel calm and at ease during this important event. I was a happy as a clam this day, and I was to please to have a photographer who was just as happy as I was! Wonderful pictures, wonderful attitude, wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. Thanks for being a part of our wedding, we will use you for sure in our future Photography needs.”   Nikole & Alex

“You are truly one of the most amazing people I have ever met.  James & I adored your energy & willingness to think outside the box with us… to get every shot that we dreamed of having & more.  I have been telling everyone that there isn’t a photographer that I have met that will go over & beyond like you do…”     Rachael & James

 “David was the greatest gift a bride could have ever asked for. He made our wedding day so incredibly special. His energy and attitude is infectious … David told me over the phone before we met that We were a team, & that this was his passion & that this will be fun. And that’s what it’s all about. Enjoying and having fun in each & every moment. And capturing those moments through his work. We did exactly that. It was quite special and I can’t thank him enough.”     Haley & Kasib

“What a truly unforgettable experience… There was absolutely no stress involved, just lots of fun & laughter. We were truly impressed by his professionalism and fun-loving personality.”      Jennifer & Chris

“I am beyond thrilled with our pictures. I have been camera shy my entire life …. David, really put me at ease and got some great photos. Our families and friends are just as happy with the photos and our ordering pictures for themselves. ”     Lora & Ethan

 “David was great, he had fabulous ideas and our photos are superb. He listened to what we wanted and understood our vision for our photos. He helped us pick out a ceremony site and the beach he suggested was perfect beyond our imagination. We received our photos very quickly after our wedding and they again exceeded our expectations.”     Barbara & Graham

“… he did a wonderful job on our pictures and was full of joyous personality on our special day. David even helped comfort me (the bride) when I was nervously getting my make-up and hoku lei on for the ceremony. He calmed me down through humor and let me know the pics were going to come out just as I hoped. And they did, the photos were absolutely stunning! He is prompt with orders, very communicative and extremely professional on the business end. … David has a great deal of experience as a photographer for different types of settings … In our collection, there are photos that are so unbelievably candid, they are so natural and in the moment. David was able to catch these special sparks, with great use of lighting and creative eye for artistic prints.”     Victoria & Brent

”Oh My Gosh! The pictures are beautiful! I can’t imagine how they could have been any better! … When you have such a small wedding party the photographer becomes your 5th guest we couldn’t be happier it was you, you made it fun and relaxing clearly a good thing when you want great photos.We have been told that we laugh a lot I don’t think I realized how much…..we must have made you crazy trying to get a shot with our mouths closed. LOL. Thank you again so very much you captured our feelings precisely!”      Twila & Tom

“I absolutley loooooovvvveee the pictures!!  I am so excited and have been getting all sorts of fabulous feedback on them.  (Adrian thinks the one you took of my feet should win a photography of the year award….me too!!!).  Thanks again for your beautiful work.  We so enjoyed sharing our special day with you.  Thanks to your talent we will have many special memories to look at for years to come!!”     Kristy & Adrian

 

Menu