REVIEWS – Portraits

See more of our reviews on Facebook.

“David was so wonderful to work with last evening for our family photos!!! He somehow managed to corral 18 people ranging from ages 4 to 75 to produce some spectacular photos! Half the group was teens and they had a blast! We saw a sneak preview of the photos this morning and they are amazing! What great memories he captured!”   Kristi Nuelle, June 14, 2017

“It can be a challenge to select a photographer long distance, but let me assure you that you WILL NOT go wrong with David. Not only is he personable with all ages, but he takes amazing pictures that are sure to become family heirlooms. Plus, we saw images just a few short hours after our shoot AND our whole gallery was completed very promptly. I have a 5 year old who can be shy around strangers, but David made her feel comfortable right away. It was a wonderful session and he was able to get BEAUTIFUL pictures of all 11 of the extended family.”   Marta Zaborowski Ukropina, May 29, 2017

“Fabulous family picture. David has it down. He was able to corral our family for a fantastic 1 hour photo shoots before we melted in the sun. Great with kids, grumpy husbands and getting in that sneaky shot which truly shows the personality of our families. Thank you!”   Kimber Felton, May 29, 2017

“David did a fabulous job for our whole family. The pictures capture the wonderful time we had on vacation. I highly recommend him if you’re on the Big Island. He had our five year old granddaughter enjoying the experience.”   Nancy Walsh,  April 26, 2017 

“David and Birgit were especially wonderful for my fiancés and my engagement shoot! My fiancé hired David to take pictures of him proposing, but it was all a surprise to me! David played the part of a pro photographer hired to take shots of the helicopter tour we went on, and he played the part perfectly! Without me suspecting a thing, he got the best shots of every moment. They were timely, professional, and most importantly fun! Adam and I were extremely happy with the product produced by David and Birgit and they were such a pleasure to work with! We highly recommend their work to capture your most precious memories. Thank you David and Birgit!” Stevie Hermansen, April 22, 2017

“David and Birgit are an absolute pleasure to work with. So unbelievably talented and we couldn’t be happier with the priceless images and memories created. Not only was this a fun experience for us with David’s wonderful personality, but David and Birgit planned out every detail of this photo shoot. This was a surprise engagement shoot at sunset with so many variables. Their attention to detail and positive energy took all of the stress off of me and allowed us to live in the moment. Thank you for everything! We look forward to doing this again soon.”   Ryan Blasdell, March 27, 2017

David was recommended by the concierge at our hotel and he was a great choice for our family. I originally just wanted family photos of our 3 adult children, their spouses and our almost 2 year old granddaughter. I knew we had only an hour to shoot but when we met, he was excited to add couples pictures, pregnancy (we had 2) pictures and lots of pictures of our sweet granddaughter. We all agreed the pictures were pretty fabulous and couldn’t choose just 10 so David allowed us to upgrade our package so we could own them all! We definitely will use David again on our next Hawaii vacay when our family will be even bigger!   Michele, February 24, 2017

Our entire family would highly recommend David!”This was our second time using David for our family photo shoot.. I can’t say enough of how amazing he is, especially working with 4 kids!! He somehow got great shots of our 1 yr old and 3 month old. I have never liked pictures of myself, and don’t let anyone take pictures of me ever. He made me so comfortable and carefree. He was able to capture beautiful photos of all 10 of us. Then, we had a sneak peek of some of our photos just hours later! I couldn’t recommend him enough. If you live or are visiting Kailua, he is your go to photographer!”   Jessica, February 12, 2017

“I will forever treasure my recent photography experience in Kona with David! He inspired me to embrace the moment and brought out my natural essence during the shoot. His wife is a gem and quite lovely. She was helpful and offered suggestions on flowers and such for the photo shoot! Maholo, Brenda”.  Brenda Janot, January 29, 2017

“Our session this morning with David was GREAT! He LOVES his job and it shows in his work and the way he treats his clients. We had a WONDERFUL time!”   Bert Stout, January 24, 2017

“David is amazing — he made our family laugh and relax as he took so many fabulous images. We never felt rushed or pressured – our grandboys (4 of them) all giggled at his jokes and the pictures reflected natural poses of a family having fun!”   Meira Mathison, January 18, 2017

“David and Birgit did such an amazing job in communicating with me and helping me to find the perfect location to propose to my girlfriend! He even went out of his way to arrive early to the beach where I proposed in order to scout out the area, and to find the place that was the least crowded that would provide the absolute best shot of the proposal. We absolutely love the photos. David was a blast to work with and clearly enjoys what he does. I would highly recommend going with him for any of your photography needs!”   Brendan Daugherty, January 1, 2017

“WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! They’re tremendous!!!! You guys are really great at what you do! We had great fun and the results are unbelievable! We’ll go to the next package and take ALL of David’s creations.”   Max Stead, December 27, 2016

“We loved our time with David and think that the samples you have sent out are amazing.  The sense of calm that David was able to establish with our family in such a short period of time made the whole experience that much better. ”   Michelle Hodson, December 21, 2016

“David is magic…I decided that with our 15 family members, most being children, there was no way a family series of photos could be successful, especially with the children ranging in ages from  2 to 16 plus a sprinkling of adults. I needed a good professional photography for capturing our wonderful trip.  After calling the Mauna Kea where we were staying and getting rave reviews from them, I called his darling wife who walked me through the process. To say the least, we were not disappointed but estactic over the results.  He managed to make it a fun time, captured precious moments and all were so pleased with the results. Having worked myself with a well known Texas photographer for years, I know how difficult all this can be, but as I said, David is magic. I just wish I could show you the wonderful results of his keen eye and special gift of photography that made our pictures and session a most memorable occasion. thank you, David!   Elizabeth Feuille, November 19, 2016

“David made our photo session so enjoyable and relaxing. He captured some great expressions and the surroundings were just gorgeous! If you are looking for a fun and patient photographer, look no further. We love our family pictures!” Brenda Browning, November 25, 2016

“We would highly recommend David Baldwin. We had two teenagers who were not exactly thrilled at the prospect of a photo session. David immediately put them at ease and made the 1 hour fly by!! Our photos were so unique and truly showed the beauty of the Hawaiian coast it will be hard to choose. The location David chose was 5 minutes from our vacation home. He is a talented photographer-we booked him only through internet reviews and he did not disappoint! You will be thrilled with your David Baldwin photos on the big island!”  Lisa Kahn, November 23, 2016

“While on the Big Island we had our family portrait taken, I know you are thinking boring department store shots… NO! We had a hilarious time with David Baldwin and got photos of a lifetime on the beach. His easy and friendly manner paved the way to not just great photos but a wonderful afternoon… set your appointment today… you won’t regret it!”  Gretchen Osgood, November 13, 2016

“From the quick response to our initial inquiry to the final product was a wonderful experience. David did a great job of making our family feel at ease. The smiles In our photos are genuine and not posed. We highly recommend David and Birgit. AWESOME!”  Nan Jesperson, October 26, 2016

“Can’t say enough good things about David. Truly talented & passionate about his work. AMAZING experience all around & now we have photos to remember our special trip forever! The kids can be tricky for photos as you can imagine and David really gained their trust and managed to keep their interest throughout the entire session. Uncle Beach, as he is affectionately known, is brilliant with children. My 2 year old is till asking about Uncle Beach!  The photos are beyond beautiful. I am so pleased we did this photo shoot, we could never have captured what David could in a brief hour! Brought my wife to tears! love the black and whites – will find so many uses for them – needless to say – we’ll be taking all of them from the session.”                             Richard Bockner, October 29, 2016

“Thank you David for working with me these past few months on arranging the perfect engagement setting and photo session…you helped ease nerves with your excitement for the event and was able to capture our favorite moments…you have our 5 star approval for anyone needing/looking for a recommendation…well done sir!” Brian Coleman, October 10, 2016

“We had a blast!! We spent the time having so much fun, laughing and even getting a little wet during it. I could not thank you enough for the experience and I can’t wait to see all the great shots!! I will definitely let you know when we’re back again someday.” Heather Ferro, August 7, 2016

“Thank you David for a wonderful photo session! You are so great to work with! You are so warm, friendly and you work so well with kids! Our two daughters had so much fun and you made the entire experience enjoyable and stress free. Thanks for capturing such beautiful images of our Hawaiian vacation. Thank you to your wife Birgit for making scheduling a breeze and for answering my questions so quickly. I would highly recommend David for anyone seeking family photos in Hawaii!” Rebecca George, August 5, 2016

“One word…. AMAZING!!! Thank you so much for such a wonderful evening and making senior portraits so memorable! I would recommend you 1000 times over! Once again thank you!!!” Anjie VandenBos, July 12, 2016

“Hi David & Birgit. Received my last photo today that I had ordered. Chose for the family photo one that you shot at the beach. Believe this may be the best photo ever of the 12 of us and kudos to you for that being the case. We have been doing photo shoots at Mauna Kea for years – we have so to speak kissed a lot of frogs!!!! Finally we got a “prince” of a photographer!!!! Thank you. We are comfortable and relaxed in photo which shows and I attribute that greatly to you. Again thanks.”  Nelda Pryor, July 3, 2016

“David was excellent in every way. Extremely flexible and accommodating. Excellent in getting the teens and children engaged. Never know what you are getting when booking on-line—we couldn’t be more pleased. 50th wedding anniversary so have worked with many photographers…David is the best. Highly recommend.” Bob and Emily Olsen, June 11, 2016

“I had planned to propose to my girlfriend while on a vacation to Hawaii. I began contact with the resort we were staying at on The Big Island (Hilton Waikoloa Village) and had much of it set up with one thing missing that I knew was possibly the most important: a secret photographer to capture the moment without her knowing. I sorted through a list of ~15 preferred photographers from the resort and emailed them all an initial introductory email to get the ball rolling. David and Birgit responded within a half hour while others trickled in the few days after.
I was so impressed with the quick response and one that seemed so excited to play a role in such a significant moment in our lives. The communication was quick and to the point throughout the whole process (covering many months with intense planning!). All this was done via email and phone, as I was quite the mileage away from Hawaii, all the way in Ohio. David and Birgit made everything much easier and took a lot of stress off of me which I cannot thank them enough for.
The day of, David went above and beyond what I could have asked for, including gathering hotel guests to play as “extras” around the area of the proposal which helped hide what was about to happen. He took amazing photos (some still rolling in) that we both feel so lucky to have and share with family and friends. He showed extreme joy and excitement for us and at how the photos were coming out.
David captured a moment that we will be able to talk about for the rest of our life and that is something that five stars doesn’t do justice; either would 10 or 15. Please, if you are considering any photographer in the area, consider David. Absolutely blown away by everything he and Birgit did. Highly recommend!” Chris Conklin, May 11, 2016

“David, or Beach as he introduced himself as, was amazing! So easy going and fun that my son went from normally photo resistant to a willing model and ham within seconds. I just saw the sample pics and they are gorgeous! … And caught all the different lights plus have the coolest flash drive around! We will be sure to call next time we are coming back and I have already recommended you. … Thank you for such a great experience!” Jill, March 31, 2016

“We experienced a wonderful photo shoot session with David. Right away he made everyone feel so comfortable, including a 2 1/2 year old. We felt like we had known him for years. He is the most professional & engaging photographer we have ever met & his energy level is second to none. The whole family is thrilled with every one of the photos and this speaks volumes to his ability to capture “the moment.” We do not hesitate to recommend David for any photo shoot. Thank you, David, from the whole family, for putting us so at ease & giving us some great memories!” Maureen Smiley, February 1, 2016

“David, It was such a pleasure! Gunnar said “that was so much fun!”. How many 9 year olds say that after a photo shoot! Tonight was a blast – can’t wait to look at the pictures!” Meredith Horning, January 1, 2016

“Omgosh you are MAGIC! We love them!!!!! Thank you, so fast to get a preview! Kai mentioned you were the only photographer she would consider for her pictures! We knew you would make the event magical for all of us! And you did! Mahalo! XoXo” Liz Haven, December 29, 2015

“Thank you David and Birgit for another fantastic family photo session! David captured many precious images for us during our first visit to the Big Island two years ago and again this time. David is wonderful with children and always put them at ease. Our girls just love posing for “Uncle Beach”! Birgit provides prompt, professional, and friendly communication to their clients. They are simply a wonderful team to work with, and we won’t hesitate recommending them to anyone looking for a photographer in beautiful Big Island.” Clara Chiu, November 30, 2015

“You should know our family spent the rest of our trip talking about how much fun our photo session was!!!” Lisa Wood, November 27, 2015

“We just returned home, I wanted to thank you both so much for the amazing pictures. I can’t wait to see the rest of them. The one’s posted on your blog came out simply beautiful, and we all couldn’t be more pleased. It was wonderful working with both of you. David you really brought the best out in my family and made the experience such fun.” Shelly Lieberman, November 16, 2015

“Just a quick note to say thank you again for such a wonderful morning spent with you! Uncle Beach, we love you. It ‘s like seeing family when we are with you! Thank you for your time, endless energy and love for making our family look our best, which isn’t always easy! A very heart-felt MAHALO!!”
Jennifer Canaris, September 25, 2015

“Thank you so much David and Birgit! We love the first look of the pictures ! And we had an absolute blast posing for them. Your enthusiasm was infectious, David – thank you for making us so comfortable and enjoy the process! …Thanks for making our last evening here a magical one! Mahalo!”  Monica & Mahesh, August 22, 2015

“Thank you! I just started to look and feel overwhelmed with emotion seeing our family- so BRAVO! you did it! Great job, I cannot thank you enough! Fondly,Shannon.”  Shannon Williamson, August 15, 2015

“Our experience with David was so much fun. He took beautiful pictures of us and was open to all suggestions from us. I now have many pictures of my husband smiling, which I can never get myself. David made him comfortable, and joked around so he would smile and laugh. Because David was in tune to our surroundings and the lighting from the setting sun, our pictures were beautiful. Thank you David and Birgit for making my birthday a memorable one.” Nancy Swiderski, July 24, 2015

“… we LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the pictures!!! We honestly can’t thank you enough for everything! From the communication, to the location, to the high maintenance Photoshopping of my husband, to the whole photo shoot experience, to seeing our pictures the same day, we enjoyed every minute! My nephew, Jake, is still talking about “the professional pictures he took” & pretty sure my brother & sister-in-law will need to let Jake play around with their DSLR now! David was fabulous with our entire family & this was one of the best family photo shoots we’ve ever had!”   Shannon Meairs, May 14, 2015

“What an amazing way to remember your Hawaii vacation! David is so friendly and takes his time to get amazing pictures! He let the kids feel very involved and comfortable! We are in love with our pictures!”   Tabi Wylie, May 4, 2015

“…We had such a great time during the entire photo shoot. You made the whole process fun and enjoyable… even for the big “kids” who hate getting pictures taken. Thank you so much.”   Janice Pengelly, January 3, 2015

“Our family really enjoyed our time with David. He is so personable and friendly; we were at ease within minutes of meeting him. He was attentive to our expectations for our photos and exceeded them. He is very talented and capable. It was very windy that night but that did not deter him in any way. I highly recommend him!”  Sheri Boyden, January 2, 2015

“David & Birgit,
Thank you for the COOL and GROOVY photo shoot! The family mentioned that it was one of the best sittings they’ve experienced. I’ve made them sit though several in the past and they don’t usual enjoy posing for photos! Thank you for the timely posting and professional correspondence as well. Can’t wait to see all the photos! Mahalo”   Denise Ikeda, December 31, 2014

“Thank you. Thank you. Thank you!!! It was so much fun. We just loved it and the pics are AMAZING. I honestly almost started to cry looking at them because they make me so happy!!! From the bottom of my heart..thank you so much! The sky is super cool…glad we did them tonight:) Can’t wait to see the rest. Thrilled!”   Kai Marriott, August 8, 2014

“You can add our names to each and every testimonial given and it still does not adequately express what a great job you did for the beach photo shoot of our family.  We and our three kids and their spouses loved all the pics you took of us and the grandkids.  I was foolish to think I could just pick the 15 best.   I ended up buying all 170 and wish there were more.  You guys are truly the consummate professionals- from the initial contact with Birgit to get info and set up the shoot to the great picture taking experience with David ably assisted by Lindsey and finally the viewing and purchase online.  Thanks again for making our family get-together in Hawaii even better.”   Larry and Judy Weiner, July 9, 2014

“We cannot recommend David more highly. He was prepared, creative & efficient. He won over the boys quickly and managed to take meaningful photos of all of us in all the various combinations we requested-and then some! We love the happiness he captured. It was a wonderful experience with tremendous results from David. Birgit had samples posted for us by the time we got home from dinner-very exciting for all of us. ”   Mary

“Uncle Beach, these photos are absolutely stunning! This is SO MUCH MORE than we could have possibly expected or imagined. Some of them make me laugh, some bring me to tears – they are all so incredibly special. You caught the essence of our family and words cannot express my gratitude. Thank you for taking the time to ease the kids into the photo shoot (especially my timid 4-year-old daughter). We all had an absolute ball and even 3 hours later, we are all talking about how much fun we had with you. You are truly gifted. These photos will be such special memories now and forever. Our time in Hawaii would not have been the same without these photos…Thank you, with all our hearts. Mahalo.”   Krista

“I am OVER THE MOON!!!! Tears of joy!!! LOVE LOVE LOVE THEM ALL. Can’t wait to see more!!!! This is so special to me!!! You made it happen. I thank you from the bottom of my heart!!! WOW!!”   Sheila, Steven & Serena

“WOW – what a treat! I can’t thank you enough – you were so wonderful to us – and have given us a gift of a lifetime, thank you so much. You took such good care of me in our decision process & pre event planning. Your efforts contributed to the success of the evening so much as well!”   Marla

“Literally sitting here with tears in my eyes. The first photos are so wonderful. Can’t wait to see the rest!!!! Beyond my expectations!”   Cindy

“We had an incredible time and stunning photos. We booked 2 sessions morning and sunset. David was very good at making our 5 year old feel relaxed and have a fun time. He is also super creative and suggests the best lighting and pose. He is very familiar with the scenery of the island. He will spend a lot of time capturing the moments that will become fun family memories.
I highly recommend him and I am sure to request his services when I return to the islands again.
I have previously worked with many photographers and I highly recommend David’s work. He has a very quick turn around time and superb results.“   Anshu

“Aloha Birgit, You were so right about David. He was way beyond what we expected. Fantastic. Thank you again for making this whole thing so very easy. You all are lovely to work with. It could have been a nightmare with someone else! I must tell you that we asked the kids what their favorite part of the trip was, and Maddie said, “the photo session”. I promise. Grayson then said it was a tied between the photo session and the volcano! So there you go David. You beat all the other attractions on the big island.”   Marianne

“When you have your photos taken, the most important thing is to be relaxed and that is exactly the way David works. He made us feel comfortable, it was fun, and we are so happy with how the photos turned out. Narrowing down the list of ones to blow up and give out is near impossible! I can’t wait for our wedding so we can do it all again!
 The administrative side of things was also efficient and the service very friendly. Thank you!”   Nancy

“David thank you so much for a great afternoon and a great experience even my husband enjoyed himself :), the kids had an awesome time and are still talking about “uncle Beach”. Love all the pics.”   Benvinda

“Thank you very much for the incredible photos … Your hospitality, charm, professionalism and talent made our photo session experience amazingly wonderful but also made permanent a very special time in our lives. We were told you were the best photographer in Hawaii but it seems you are also the best on the mainland as well! … you remain my favorite photographer of all time… ”   Maureen & Tyler

“I am beyond thrilled with our pictures. I have been camera shy my entire life …. David, really put me at ease and got some great photos. Our families and friends are just as happy with the photos and our ordering pictures for themselves. ”   Lora & Ethan

 

Menu